DC Brush Motor Composition Classification

The basic components of a DC brushed motor include a stator, a rotor, a brush, and a commutator. The magnetic field interaction between the stator and the rotor drives the rotation of the motor. The type of the brushed DC motor is divided according to the manner in which the magnetic field is generated in the stator or housing of the motor. According to the type of brushed DC motor, the stator magnetic field can be generated by a permanent magnet or a winding in the stator. For the latter case, the stator windings and the rotor windings may be connected in parallel, in series, or in a mixed manner. The three types of brushed DC motors are respectively referred to as a shunt motor, a series motor, and a double-shock motor.